Grief & Loss Counseling


Through our work in hospice and health care, we understand the pain and feelings of being “lost” that often accompany loss. You can feel supported while you go through such a difficult journey.

We provide you with a safe, non-judgmental space to explore these intense feelings and work alongside you while you meet the oftentimes challenging process of grieving. Holding space means meeting our clients where they are in the process without pushing or adding more pressure. We can help you gain clarity, provide support, and assist you with ways you can begin to move towards a place of resolution.

We want you to know, there are some predictable stages that most people pass through after losing something or someone important. In her work on death and dying, Elisabeth Kübler-Ross outlined five stages of grieving. These stages (with the exception of the first and last) are often fluid, moving from one to another in no order and often change from one to another over time.

Shock and Denial

The first reaction to loss is often the inability to feel anything. This may include feeling numb, weak, overwhelmed, anxious, not yourself, or withdrawn.


Blaming  yourself  or  others  for  the loss.


“If you’ll just let him live, I’ll promise to go to church every Sunday for the rest of my life.”


Feeling deep sadness, disturbed sleep and eating patterns, excessive crying, change in appetite, motivation, and interest in your usual activities.


Beginning to look for the lessons of the experience.

Kinds of Losses

Some examples of significant losses are:

  •   Loss of a person through death

  • Divorce

  • Job loss

  • Loss of your good health when you are diagnosed with a disease

  • Loss of a body part through accident or surgery

  • Loss of an ability, such as blindness

  • Loss of a friend who has moved

  • Loss of everything familiar when you move away

Each kind of loss affects each person in a different way, but the recovery process usually follows Kübler-Ross’s five stages.

Recovering from Loss: Some Key Points

  1.  You are responsible for your own grief process. No one can tell you how to grieve, and no one will do your grieving for you. It is hard work and you must manage the process by yourself. We can assist you through this time.

  2.  The grief process has a purpose. It is to help you learn to accept the reality of the loss and to learn from the experience.

  3.  Remind yourself that your grief will end. You will not feel like this forever. You will heal.

  4.  Take care of your health. Grief is extremely stressful, and it requires energy to manage the stress.

This is not a comprehensive list but can help you understand some of the elements that are important to the grieving process.